IslamQA.org Logo

Is Spirit Vinegar Halal

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by IslamicPortal.co.uk

Is Spirit Vinegar Ḥalāl?

بسم الله الرحمن الرحیم

Answer

According to the Ḥanafī school of thought, vinegar is Ḥalāl even if it is made from alcohol, as it undergoes complete transformation.

قال النبي صلی الله علیه وسلم: نعم الأدم أو الإدام الخل ، رواہ مسلم (۲۰٥۱) ، قال الإمام محمد بن الحسن الشیباني: قال أبو حنیفة رضي الله عنه: لا بأس بالخمر یكون للمسلم أن یصب فیها الماء أو یطرح فیها الملح فیصیر خلا فیؤكل ذلك الخل أو یباع ، كذا في الحجة علی أهل المدینة (۳: ۸) ، وقال القدوري (صـ ۲۰٤): وإذا تخللت الخمر حلت سواء صارت خلا بنفسها أو بشيء طرح فيها ولا يكره تخليلها ، وراجع البدائع (٥: ۱۱۳) والمبسوط (۲٤: ۲۲)۔

Allah knows best

Yusuf Shabbir

29 Jumādā al-Thāniyah 1438 / 28 March 2017

Approved by: Mufti Shabbir Ahmad Sahib

This answer was collected from IslamicPortal.co.uk, which is a repository of Islamic Q&A, articles, books, and resources. Various schools write and oversee the answers, including Maulana Yusuf Shabbir, Mufti Shabbir Ahmed, and Mufti Muhammad Tahir. 

Find more answers indexed from: IslamicPortal.co.uk
Read more answers with similar topics: