Home » Hanafi Fiqh » DarulIftaBirmingham » Would the Content Inside a Haram Gelatin-Based Capsule Be Permissible To Consume?

Would the Content Inside a Haram Gelatin-Based Capsule Be Permissible To Consume?

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham

Answered by: Alimah Safiyya-Maryam Ahmed


Would the content inside a haram gelatin-based capsule be permissible to consume, if the medication is removed? Or will traces of Haraam remain?

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful


Firstly, one must never remove medicine that is encased inside a capsule without the advice of a healthcare professional as this may affect the usage or even prove to be dangerous. This is because capsules are designed to release their active ingredients at a specific rate and in a specific location.

Secondly, impurity is not transferred from a dry impure item to a dry pure item so in principle, it would be allowed from a Fiqh perspective.

Finally, it is advised to speak to a doctor and/or pharmacist regarding halal/ vegetarian alternatives that may be available.

Only Allah knows best

Written by Alimah Safiyya-Maryam Ahmed

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham


( قوله : نام ) أي : فعرق،وقوله : أومشى : أي : وقدمهمبتلة . ( قوله : علىنجاسة ) أي : يابسةلمافيمتنالملتقىلو وضعثوبارطباعلىماطينبطيننجسجاف لاينجس،قال الشارح : لأنبالجفافتنجذبرطوبةالثوبمنغيرعكسبخلافماإذاكانالطينرطبا . اهـ .( قوله : إنظهرعينها ) المرادبالعينمايشملالأثر ; لأنهدليلعلىوجودهالوعبربهكمافينورالإيضاحلكانأولى . ( قوله : تنجس ) أي : فيعتبرفيهالقدرالمانعكمامرفيمحله (رد المحتار, باب الانجاس, صفحة ٥٦٠, دار عالم الكتب)

This answer was collected from DarulIftaBirmingham.co.uk, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Read answers with similar topics: