1

Champagne chocolates halal or haram

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham
Prev Question
Next Question


Answered by: Ustadha Umm Abdullah


Question:


Is marc de champagne ingredient in thorntons premium chocolate halal?


Answer


بسم الله الرحمن الرحي


Marc de Champagne is a brandy made as a by-product of the Champagne making process by using the discarded seeds and skins. 


Brandy is an alcoholic drink that contains 30%-60% alcohol typically extracted from fermented grapes, apples and other sugary fruits. [1]


Chocolates that contain this ingredient will be haraam (unlawful) to consume.


Only Allah Ta’ala knows best


Ustadha Umm Abdullah


Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah


Darul Ifta Birmingham


[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brandy


This answer was collected from DarulIftaBirmingham.co.uk, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Sidebar