Ref. No. 1011/41-176
In the name of Allah the most Gracious the most merciful
The answer to your question is as follows:
Prawn is Halal or Haram? It depends on whether the prawn lies under the category of fish or not. Some Islamic scholars – linguists say it is a kind of fish, thus it is Halal. Other scholars – zoologists regard it a kind of crab other than fish, and hence it is Haram. However, prawn being a fish is preferable. (Imdadul Fatawa 4/103, Fiqhi Maqalat 3/217)
And Allah knows best
Darul Uloom Waqf Deoband
This answer was collected from the official website of Darul Uloom Deoband Waqf. The institution is based in India and the answers are provided in accordance to the Hanafi Fiqh.