Parts of an Animal which can’t be Eaten

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by

Q: Which parts of an animal are not to be eaten? If any such part is cooked with meat from the animal what is the position of the whole?

The following five parts of an animal are not allowed to be eaten:
1. Gall bladder
2. Urinary bladder
3. Glands
4. Blood
5. Male and female genitalia.
If one of these is cooked with meat, it will not be permissible to eat the entire meal.

Note: The little blood that is normally attached to the meat and is sometimes noticed in the gravy when cooking that meat, is not Haraam. Such a minute amount of blood if cooked with the meat will not render that meat Haraam.

Allah Ta’aala knows best.

This answer was collected from, which is operated under the supervision of Council of Ulama Eastern Cape, South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from:
Read more answers with similar topics:
Related QA

Pin It on Pinterest