Home » Hanafi Fiqh » Askimam.org » Please advise whether Oysters fall under the same category as prawns and crabs, or are they permissible being fish. Please clarify whether prawns are halal or makrooh.

Please advise whether Oysters fall under the same category as prawns and crabs, or are they permissible being fish. Please clarify whether prawns are halal or makrooh.

Answer

Assalaamu Alaykum Wa Rahmatullaahi Wa Barakaatuhu

From seafood, only fish is made Halaal for us. Rasulullah (Sallallaahu
Alayhi Wasallam) said, ‘Two carions are made Halaal for us; Fish and locust.
‘ (Mishkaat vol.2 pg.361).

Fish is classified as a Vertebra. Shrimps and lobsters are not vertebras, hence, not permissible.

Some Ulama are of the opinion that shrimps, etc. are fish, therefore,
permissible. Due to the differences of opinion, it is best to adopt Taqwa
and abstain from eating shrimps, etc. but they cannot be regarded as swine
meat which is expressly Haraam.

and Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai
FATWA DEPT.

Original Source Link

This answer was collected from Askimam.org, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Ebrahim Desai from South Africa.

Read answers with similar topics: