Home » Hanafi Fiqh » TheMufti.com » The wives and concubines of Rasoolullah Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam

The wives and concubines of Rasoolullah Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by TheMufti.com

Q. How many wives and concubines did Rasoolullah Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam have and what are their names?

A. Rasoolullah Sallallah Alayhi Wasallam married a total of 11 wives namely;

  1. Khadeejah bint Khuwaylid Radiyallahu Anha)
  2. Sawdah bint Zam’ah ibn Qays Radiyallahu Anha
  3. ‘Aa’ishah bint Abi Bakr Al-Siddeeq Radiyallahu Anha
  4. Hafsah bint ‘Umar Radiyallahu Anha
  5. Zaynab bint Khuzaymah Radiyallahu Anha
  6. Umm Salamah bint Abi Umayyah Radiyallahu Anha
  7. Juwayriyyah bint Al-Haarith Radiyallahu Anha
  8. Zaynab bint Jahsh Radiyallahu Anha
  9. Umm Habeebah bint Abi Sufyaan Radiyallahu Anha
  10. Maymoonah bint Al-Haarith Radiyallahu Anha
  11. Safiyyah bint Huyayy ibn Akhtab Radiyallahu Anha

Rasoolullah Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam had 4 concubines, 3 of who’s names are known namely;

  1. Maariyah Qibtiyyah Radhiyallahu Anha
  2. Rayhaanah bint Amr Radhiyallahu Anha
  3. Nafeesah Radhiyallahu Anha

(Al Bidaayah Wannihaayah 4/144-145 – Seeratul Mustaafa 3/281)

Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

Mufti Ismaeel Bassa

This answer was collected from TheMufti.com, which is a fatwa portal managed by Mufti Ismaeel Bassa from South Africa.

Read answers with similar topics: