Answered by Ustadh Tabraze Azam
Question:As salaamu alaykum,
We have falsely assumed that vitamin tablets were okay because they do not have a gelatine capsule. But they contain vitamins derived from pork gelatine. What should we do?
Answer: Wa alaikum assalam wa rahmatullah,
I pray this finds you in the best of health and faith, insha’Allah.
If the tablets contained pork, you should not have taken them. If you accidentally took them, you should repent for your error.
Please see: A Guide for Consuming Various Meats, Foods, Alcohol, Animal By-Product Ingredients, and Cosmetics and: A Reader on Tawba (Repentance)
And Allah knows best.
Checked & Approved by Shaykh Faraz Rabbani