Home » Hanafi Fiqh » Muftisays.com » Is malt vinegar and “Tahira’s meat and poultry product” halal according to Islamic law?

Is malt vinegar and “Tahira’s meat and poultry product” halal according to Islamic law?

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by Muftisays.com
Dear mufti sahib
What is the islamic ruling with regards to malt vinegar. I spoke to one of the company in United Kingdom today and they told me that they are not giving an absolute gurantee that they malt vinegar they produce is completely free from alcohol.
With regards to “Tahira’s meat and poultry product” are we allowed to use their products as they put the Halal label on their products.
Mehmood Yousuf

All vinegars are permissible even if they are White wine vinegar and cider vinegar.

Vinegar is produced by two successive microbial processes. The first being an alcoholic fermentation (which is Haraam) and the second an oxidation of alcohol by aceto bacter, when it’s molecular structure is changed and it ceases to be an intoxicant. Other varieties of vinegar are produced from beetroot, tarragon and alcoholic spirits. In vinegar the intoxicating factor is destroyed by the microbial process of oxidation hence it becomes permissible. Islam permits any variety of vinegar to be used as a condiment or preservative. (Muslim Food Guide – Page A26/27)

We hope this information is useful. Please do visit http://www.foodguide.org.uk and read other Masaa’il regarding foods.

(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide

Original Source Link

This answer was collected from MuftiSays.com, based in London (UK). It is one of the fruits of Darul Uloom London. Many ‘ulama are involved in answering the Q&A on the site, including: Shaikul Hadeeth Mufti Umar Farooq Sahib, Mufti Saifur Rahman Sahib, Mufti Abdullah Patel Sahib, Maulana Qamruz Zaman Sahib, Mufti Abu Bakr Karolia Sahib.

Read answers with similar topics: