Home » Hanafi Fiqh » DarulIftaBirmingham » Is orion choco pie halal

Is orion choco pie halal

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham

Is orion choco pie halal

In the name of Allah, the most Beneficent, the most Merciful.


A Choco Pie consists of two layers of chocolate-dipped cookies with a marshmallow filling. The answer to your question will depend on whether the marshmallow has gelatine or not. Many marshmallows, which are used to make sweets and chocolates, have gelatine inside.

Before tackling the issue of gelatine one should bear in mind that pork and all its by products are forbidden in the Qur’an. Therefore, if gelatine is made from pork or any other animal upon which Allah’s name has not been mentioned then they are forbidden also.

Allah (SWA) in the Holy Qur’an has said: “He has only forbidden you dead meat and blood and the flesh of swine and that on which any other name has been invoked other than Allah.” (Surah Baqarah v.173)

Gelatine is a protein obtained by partial hydrolysis of animal collagenous tissues such as skin, tendons, ligaments, bones, cartilage and hooves. Generally skin and bones of pigs and calves are used for products of food and medicine. (Muslim Food Guide)

In regards to your question, if gelatine is derived from haraam sources namely pigs or any other animal upon which Allah’s name has not been mentioned, it is not permissible to use it. The gelatine, which is commonly found in the production of sweets and jellies, are derived mainly from pigs, thus, it will be unlawful to consume. Even if they are not derived from pigs, it will be more likely be derived from animals whom Allah’s name has not been recited, thus it will also be unlawful. (Maariful Qur’an p.428 v.1)

Only Allah Knows Best

Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

This answer was collected from DarulIftaBirmingham.co.uk, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Read answers with similar topics: