Answered by: Maulana Shadman Ahmed
Is Hippo’s meat haram or halal? Why?
بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم
In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful
Hippos are herbivores and do not consume meat or filth. They are not predatory animals. This is due to the prohibition of the Prophet SAW from eating anything that has fangs [carnivores] from the predatory animals and any birds with talons [predatory birds].
Therefore, the meat of hippos will be halal.
Only Allah knows best
Written by Maulana Shadman Ahmed
Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah
Darul Ifta Birmingham
ولأنه ليس من السباع ولا من أكلة الجيف فأشبه الظبي.
Al-Hidayah, volume 4, page 351, Dar al-Turath al-Arabi
This answer was collected from DarulIftaBirmingham.co.uk, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.