IslamQA.org Logo

I had a question about the term soya lechiten if it haram or not?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Askimam.org

I had a question about the term soya lechiten if it haram or not?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Lecithins are oily substances that occur naturally in plants (soybeans) and animals (egg yolks).

Soy lecithin (E322) is extracted from soybeans either mechanically or chemically. It’s actually a byproduct of the soybean oil production.

Some people use it as a supplement because it’s high choline content. Choline is a micronutrient that is good for heart health and brain development.

But that’s not the reason soy lecithin is used as an additive in foods. It possesses emulsification properties. This means it can keep a candy bar “together” by making sure that the cocoa and the cocoa butter don’t separate. It is also used in bakery items to keep the dough from sticking and to improve its ability to rise.[i]

Therefore, if lecithin is from egg yolks or plant sources, it will be permissible.  The ruling on lecithin from animal sources would depend on which parts it is extracted from, as well as the manner of slaughter.

As soya lecithin is derived from soya, which is a vegetable source, so that will be permissible.[ii]

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Mawlana Faraz Ibn Adam,
Student Darul Iftaa

UK

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Husain Kadodia.
www.daruliftaa.net

 



[ii] وفي رد المحتار

( فيفهم منه حكم النبات ) وهو الإباحة على المختار ج 6 ص 460 أيج ايم سعيد

 

Original Source Link

This answer was collected from Askimam.org, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Ebrahim Desai from South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from: Askimam.org
Read more answers with similar topics:
Search
Related QA

Pin It on Pinterest