The term haraam is used when anything is expressly prohibited in the Qur’aan. That is the case with alcohol and other Haraam foods, for example, pig, carrion, etc.
The spirit of a believer is to express submission and abstain from whatever is Haraam. There is no point in discussing which Haraam is worse than the other. A believer should believe that every Haraam is the worst and abstain from it.
and Allah Ta’ala Knows Best
Mufti Ebrahim Desai