I have heard from somebody that he was of the opinion that the first grass is not haraam, but the glass before you become intoxicated with is. Is there any truth to this statement or is it taken out of context etc. if so what is the original statement and how is it interpretated?
The information is incorrect.
According to Imaam Abu Hanifa, alcohol from grapes or dates extract is
absolutely prohibited. However, drinks extracted from wheat, barley, sugar
cane, etc. is permissible to the extent that they do not intoxicate.
and Allah Ta’ala Knows Best
Mufti Ebrahim Desai