Home » Hanafi Fiqh » Qibla.com » Smokey Bacon

Smokey Bacon

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by Qibla.com

Answered by Shaykh Abdurrahman ibn Yusuf Mangera

What is the ruling on foodsconfectionary that are Halaal in nature i.e. they are suitable for vegetarians or animal derivative free and also alcohol free but assume the name of Haraam? For example: Walker’s Roast Pork flavour Crisps or Bacon Frazzles or the like? Please could you answer in detail quoting references?

In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Assalamu alaykum

In the name of Allah, the Inspirer of truth.

If all the ingredients are halal, then technically the product will also be halal and consumable.

However, due to the name and the flavor resemblance it is disliked and best avoided, so as not to become accustomed to such flavors and avoid putting yourself in a suspicious position in front of others.

It has been related that Umar radhiyallahu anhu said,

“Protect yourself from matters of suspicion.” (Kashf al-khafa)

And Allah knows best.


Abdurrahman ibn Yusuf

This answer was indexed from Qibla.com, which used to have a repository of Islamic Q&A answered by various scholars. The website is no longer in existence. It has now been transformed into a learning portal with paid Islamic course offering under the brand of Kiflayn.

Read answers with similar topics: