IslamQA.org Logo

Confused As to Whether or Not Shellac Is Permissible

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham

Answered by: Maulana Tammim Tharik Mohamadou

Question

I have recently noticed the ingredient Shellac in many chocolate-based confectioneries that are consumed amongst many Muslims. After some research, I have been left confused as to whether or not Shellac is permissible, due to the difference in opinion of many reliable scholars. I have read Fatwa ID: 04533 which was answered by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah, but I understand that this fatwa only discusses ‘Hawwan’ and the consumption of insects as impermissible but does not clearly state the opinion on the shellac itself.

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

Answer:

The link of the fatwa that you have mentioned is the following:

http://daruliftabirmingham.co.uk/is-shellac-halal/

The Shellac – according to Wikipedia – is a resin secreted by the female lac bug on trees in the forests of India and Thailand. The lac bug is in the same superfamily as the insect from which cochineal is obtained.

So, this is clearly an insect produced content and all insects are considered to be from the “Hawwam” category according to Shari’ah which is an Arabic word referring to domestic pests such as insects, rodents, reptiles, worms, spiders, and other crawling slithering animals.

As a result, all insect-based content or insect produced content will be unlawful to consume as correctly mentioned in the above fatwa.

Hence, all confectioneries containing Shellac will not be lawful to consume.

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Tammim Tharik Mohamadou

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

This answer was collected from DarulIftaBirmingham.co.uk, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Find more answers indexed from: DarulIftaBirmingham
Read more answers with similar topics:
Search
Related QA

Pin It on Pinterest