Is Shrimp Halal?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham

Answered by: Maulana Mustafa Umar



Is shrimp halal?

 بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful


In the Hanafi school, it is only allowed to eat animals from the sea which are classified as fish. An eel, for example, was classified as fish, as a general category.[1] As for shrimp, scholars have differed whether or not it is considered to be in the category of fish or not, according to the understanding of the common Arabs at the time, not from a biological point of view.

Mufti Taqi Usmani has explained that the more correct view in the Hanafi school is that it has been considered to be in the general category of fish therefore it is lawful to consume.[2]

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Mustafa Umar

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham


[1] Mukhtasar Al-Quduri p. 576, Taha Publishers, 2010

[2] Fiqhi Maqaalaat 3:217

This answer was collected from, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Find more answers indexed from: DarulIftaBirmingham
Read more answers with similar topics: