IslamQA

Is E471 halal or haram?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham

Answered by: Moulana Muhammad Imad Ali

Question:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah

Is E471 halal or haram?


بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah

It depends on the source. Is it from an animal or a plant base? If it states ‘suitable for vegetarians’ and the other ingredients are halal then the food should be Halal and permissible.

However, if it is from an animal base then the next step is to see if the brand states the food to be ‘Halal’. Ideally, you want to also know if the brand is reputable, trusted and known. If not the packaging at the very least states the food to be from halal beef. In this case, the assumption is that the animal was slaughtered according to Islamic Law. If unsure and it doesn’t give any indication on the packaging then it’s best to avoid.

Only Allah Ta’ala knows best

Written by Moulana Muhammad Imad Ali

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ilm Birmingham


This answer was collected from DarulIftaBirmingham.co.uk, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Find more answers indexed from: DarulIftaBirmingham
Read more answers with similar topics:
Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week



We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!