Home » Hanafi Fiqh » CouncilofUlama.co.za » Status of Glycerine

Status of Glycerine

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by CouncilofUlama.co.za

Q: Glycerine – is it Halaal or not? Reason I’m asking is that I was told it is a form of Alcohol, but still seems to be found in some chocolates, biscuits, snack bars, etc.

A: Glycerine is not an alcohol nor is it derived from alcohol. It is a syrupy liquid which is a by-product of animal fat such as tallow. Widely derived from plant source, e.g. Palm Kernel and also synthetically manufactured which is free of animal derivatives. Plant and Synthetic glycerine is permissible. Glycerine obtained from animal fat is generally not acceptable since the fat is in all likelihood, derived from a suspected non-Halaal animal source.

Aadiel Moosagie (Mufti)
[email protected]
www.councilofulama.co.za

This answer was collected from CouncilofUlama.co.za, which is operated under the supervision of Council of Ulama Eastern Cape, South Africa.

Read answers with similar topics: