I bought a couple of packets of choclates made by the LINDT company.
It said in the ingrideints list of one of the packet that it contained ‘Barley Malt Extract’.
The salesman and a coupe of freinds ensured me that ‘Barley Malt Extract’ was non-alcholic and halal.
However, could you please brief still me on the subject and tell me if its fine for consumption or not?
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.
Barley Malt Extract is classically used to brew beer but requires a separate process to become alcoholic. As such, its usage in chocolate is halāl to consume.[i]
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Student Darul Iftaa
Checked and Concurred by,
Mufti Ismail Desai and Mawlānā Zameelur-Rahmān
[i] Mash ingredients, mash bill, or grain bill are those materials used in brewing from which a wort can be obtained for fermenting into alcohol. Mashing is the act of creating and extracting fermentable and non-fermentable sugars and flavor components from grain by steeping it in hot water, and then allowing it to rest at specific temperature ranges in order to activate enzymes that will convert the starches to sugars. The sugars, having been run off from the mash ingredients, will later be converted to alcohol and other fermentation products by yeast in the brewing process. A typical primary mash ingredient is grain that has been malted. Modern-day malt recipes generally consist of a large percentage of a light malt and, optionally, smaller percentages of more flavorful or highly colored types of malt. The former is called “base malt”; the latter is known as “specialty malts”. “Mash ingredients – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia” , accessed 24 December 2013. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mash_ingredients#Chocolate_malt.