I have received a mail from an islamic website stating that the following ‘E’ numbers E100, E110, E120, E 140, E141, E153, E210, E213, E214, E216, E234 and many more, contain pig fat, but I have seen one of these ‘E’ numbers on a product that has been certified Halaal. The product in question is ‘ Beacon whole nut choclate – 100g’ . Do I follow the Halaal certification or just exclude everything that contain these E Numbers? Shukran.
We are based in South Africa and are not fully acquainted with the Halaal and Haraam certifying code of the E-numbers.
However, in principle if you are in doubt, you should exercise precaution and abstain from a product of doubt.
and Allah Ta’ala Knows Best
Mufti Ebrahim Desai