Home » Shafi'i Fiqh » Qibla.com » Consuming foods that resemble the haram 

Consuming foods that resemble the haram 

Answered as per Shafi'i Fiqh by Qibla.com

Answered by Shaykh Amjad Rasheed

Is it permissible to consume foods and drinks that physically resemble prohibited foods and drinks, such as beer that does not contain alcohol?

In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

It is not haram to consume those as long as it is halal in and of itself. However, if one intends to consume it so that he can resemble those who do the haram, such as one deliberately intending to drink beer that is free of alcohol, so that he can resemble a person who drinks, that it is haram, as the imams have said.

السؤال : هل يجوز تناولُ الأطعمة والمشروبات التي تشابه ( من حيث الشكل ) الأطعمة والمشروبات المحرمة شرعاً ، كالبيرة الخالية من الكحول مثلاً ؟

الجواب : لا يحرم ذلك طالما كان الشيءُ حلالاً في نفسه ، لكن إن قصد بتناول ذلك التشبهَ بمن يتعاطى المحرم كأن يشربَ البيرة الخالية من الكحول يريد التشبهَ بمن يشربُ الخمرَ حرم ذلك كما صرَّحوا به.

This answer was indexed from Qibla.com, which used to have a repository of Islamic Q&A answered by various scholars. The website is no longer in existence. It has now been transformed into a learning portal with paid Islamic course offering under the brand of Kiflayn.

Read answers with similar topics: