Home » Hanafi Fiqh » DarulIftaBirmingham » Why Can’t Muslims Eat Pepperoni?

Why Can’t Muslims Eat Pepperoni?

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham

Answered by: Maulana Muqtaur Rahman


Why can’t Muslims eat pepperoni?

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful


Pepperoni is an American variation of salami, made from a cured mixture of pork and beef seasoned with paprika or other chili pepper.[1]

And it is a well-established rule in Islam that pork and all its products are forbidden based on the Quran.Allah in the Holy Quran mentioned: “He has only forbidden you dead meat and blood and the flesh of swine and that on which any other name has been invoked other than Allah.”[2]

Abu Bakr reported Allah’s Messenger as saying, “Nobody which has been nourished with unlawful will enter paradise.”[3]

Therefore, it is due to the mixture of pork why pepperoni is not suitable for a halal diet. However, there are halal pepperoni’s available where the pork has been substituted with halal chicken.

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Muqtaur Rahman

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pepperoni#cite_note-howfoodworks-1

[2] Surah Al-Baqarah, Ayah 173

[3] Mishkat al-Masabih, Hadith No.2787

This answer was collected from DarulIftaBirmingham.co.uk, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Read answers with similar topics: