IslamQA.org Logo

Is Blue #2 Halal?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham

Answered by: Maulana Mustafa Umar

Indigo dye
Indigo dye

Question
Is Blue #2 halal?

 بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

Answer:

Blue #2 is an ingredient known as Indigo Carmine which is an organic salt derived from indigo dye [which is blue]. This appears to be different from Carmine or Cochineal which is derived from scale insects. Therefore, if it can be verified that Blue #2 is not derived from insects but rather from plants, it would be permissible to eat.

[see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indigo_carmine]

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Mustafa Umar

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

This answer was collected from DarulIftaBirmingham.co.uk, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Find more answers indexed from: DarulIftaBirmingham
Read more answers with similar topics: