How much of alcohol is permissible in food and medicine.
Recently i came across an article which says most of the companies use alcohol in their icecreams.
especially vanilla icecream. Though some companies use 0.5_ 1% in thier icecreams and some use less or more.
can you please guide me.
All vanilla icecreams use alcohol to get the vanilla extract from its beans.
Umme Nabeel USA
Ref. No. 985/4-140
In the name of Allah the most Gracious the most Merciful
The answer to your question is as follow:
Nowadays the alcohol used in edibles and medicines is generally made of vegetables, wheat, beans and coils etc. Such alcohol is pure and Halal. Similarlyaccording to our knowledge, the alcohol used to get the vanilla extract from its bean is not made of grapes, dates or raisins but it is made of vegetables thus it is pure and Halal. Nevertheless, if you ever come across an edible object that contains alcohol made of grapes etc. then it is impure and Haram even a drop of it.
And Allah knows best
Darul Uloom Waqf Deoband
This answer was collected from the official website of Darul Uloom Deoband Waqf. The institution is based in India and the answers are provided in accordance to the Hanafi Fiqh.