IslamQA.org Logo

Ingredients information regarding E422

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Askimam.org
  • Brand Name:


Sugarflair colours

  • Product Name: 


Spectral paste concentrate to colour icing, marzipan etc 

  • Ingredients:


E422, E1520, E551, E153(vegetable carbon)

Nut free, gluten free, Gm free, suitable for vegetarians

  • Now my question is I have checked all the ingredients in this product all are halal except E422. If it’s from plant fat than its halaal. Since the product is suitable for vegetarians (which means its of plant fat) and I even emailed them and the reply was, its from plant fat . Please tell me can I now consider this product halaal ?


Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Plant fat is permissible. In principle, it is permissible to accept ingredient related information from Non-Muslims. As a matter of precaution you may also refer to a reliable halal verifying body source for further advice.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Abdullah Ghadai

Student Darul Iftaa
Michigan, U.S.A 

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

This answer was collected from Askimam.org, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Ebrahim Desai from South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from: Askimam.org
Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week



We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!