Home » Hanafi Fiqh » Askimam.org » Grapeseed Extract

Grapeseed Extract

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by Askimam.org

I recently bought viridian high five multivitamin and mineral formula. The brand is vegetarian and the ingredient list can be found here:http://www.viridian-nutrition.com/Shop/High-Five-Multivitamin-and-Mineral-Formula-P557.aspx#

After buying the container, I was doing some research on it and came across a link that listed it as vegan and kosher but not halal (I don’t know how authorative that information is, but I’m pasting the link here: https://www.vitaminstore.nl/health/voedingssupplement/multi/algemeen/High-Five-Multivitamine-Mineralen-Formule-Viridian-hersenen/P86856?Variant=92026) , which was confusing to me. I went through the ingredient list and the only doubtful ingredient I could find was grapeseed extract. I want to know is grapeseed extract halal to consume? I googled this and found conflicting answers.


In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Grape seed extract (GSE) is an industrial derivative of whole grape seeds. Accordingly, it is permissible to consume the Vitamin in reference.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Huzaifah Deedat

Student Darul Iftaa
Lusaka, Zambia 

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.



This answer was collected from Askimam.org, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Ebrahim Desai from South Africa.

Read answers with similar topics: