IslamQA.org Logo

I wanted to know if gelatin from halal animals is permissible to eat.

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Albalagh.net

Gelatin from Halal Animals

By Mufti Shafiq Jakhura (Darul Ihsan Centre)


Q.

I wanted to know if gelatin from halal animals is permissible to eat.


A. Gelatin acquired from halal animals that have been slaughtered in the halal manner is indeed halal. As for the gelatin derived from halal animals that have not been slaughtered according to Islamic rites, there is a difference of opinion among ulama with regards to whether it is halal or not.

In view of this difference, it is best to abstain from such gelatin.

And Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

_________________________________________________

This answer was collected from Albalagh.net, which is an Islamic site with Q&A and articles authored by many world renowned scholars from the Muslim world. Many of Mufti Taqi Uthmani’s fatawa in English are found exclusively on this site.

Find more answers indexed from: Albalagh.net
Read more answers with similar topics:
Ad by Muslim Ad Network
Search
Related QA

Pin It on Pinterest