Answered by Ustadh Tabraze Azam
Question: Assalaamu Aleikum,
Is it permitted to eat bone broth? I was told that it is Haram because it is from the food of the jinn.
I pray that you are in the best of health and faith, insha’Allah.
Yes, it is permitted to eat bone broth.
Bones are from the food of the jinn in the sense that when they come across them, the meat is returned to them and the jinn eat of it as understood from the traditions (hadith) about this in Sahih Muslim and elsewhere. It is not that they necessarily eat the bones themselves.
Moreover, even if it were otherwise and they actually ate the bones, this would not seem to prevent the permissibility of benefiting from the meat and bone in its entirety.
And Allah alone gives success.
Checked & Approved by Shaykh Faraz Rabbani
This answer was collected from Seekersguidance.org. It’s an online learning platform overseen by Sheikh Faraz Rabbani. All courses are free. They also have in-person classes in Canada.