is gluten halaal or haraam?
|In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh
Gluten is permissible.
gluten – Mixture of proteins not readily soluble in water that occurs in wheat and most other cereal grains. Its presence in flour makes production of leavened baked goods (see baking) possible because the chainlike gluten molecules form an elastic network that traps carbon dioxide gas and expands with it. The properties of gluten vary with its composition, which differs according to the source. Thus, doughs range from soft and extensible to tough and elastic, depending on the gluten in the flours. Persons with an allergy to gluten can often eat rice or spelt products.
For more information on gluten, visit Britannica.com.
And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh
Subscribe to our Free Newsletter www.foodguide.org.uk
We will keep you posted bi-monthly or so on Updates, and any urgent notifications.
(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide
Original Source Link