IslamQA.org Logo

Gluten

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Muftisays.com
is gluten halaal or haraam?

Answer
In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Gluten is permissible.

gluten – Mixture of proteins not readily soluble in water that occurs in wheat and most other cereal grains. Its presence in flour makes production of leavened baked goods (see baking) possible because the chainlike gluten molecules form an elastic network that traps carbon dioxide gas and expands with it. The properties of gluten vary with its composition, which differs according to the source. Thus, doughs range from soft and extensible to tough and elastic, depending on the gluten in the flours. Persons with an allergy to gluten can often eat rice or spelt products.
For more information on gluten, visit Britannica.com.

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter www.foodguide.org.uk
We will keep you posted bi-monthly or so on Updates, and any urgent notifications.

————————————–
(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide

Original Source Link

This answer was collected from MuftiSays.com, based in London (UK). It is one of the fruits of Darul Uloom London. Many ‘ulama are involved in answering the Q&A on the site, including: Shaikul Hadeeth Mufti Umar Farooq Sahib, Mufti Saifur Rahman Sahib, Mufti Abdullah Patel Sahib, Maulana Qamruz Zaman Sahib, Mufti Abu Bakr Karolia Sahib.

Find more answers indexed from: Muftisays.com
Read more answers with similar topics:
Search
Related QA

Pin It on Pinterest