Consuming vitamins with gelatine

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by

Q: Is it ja’iz to consume Vitamin D3 supplements that are made in Saudi Arabia and contain gelatin? (I couldn’t find the source of gelatin.)


A: If the gelatine is made from animals that were not slaughtered according to the Shar’ee method of slaughter, then one should refrain from consuming it. One should look for a halaal alternative.

And Allah Ta’ala (الله تعالى) knows best.


Answered by:

Mufti Zakaria Makada

Checked & Approved:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)

This answer was collected from, where the questions have been answered by Mufti Zakaria Makada (Hafizahullah), who is currently a senior lecturer in the science of Hadith and Fiqh at Madrasah Ta’leemuddeen, Isipingo Beach, South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from:
Read more answers with similar topics:
Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week

We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!