Home » Hanafi Fiqh » Muftionline.co.za » Consuming products with vanilla colouring

Consuming products with vanilla colouring

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by Muftionline.co.za

Q: Can we eat biscuits and ice cream in which all the ingredients are halal but as a artificial flavouring- vanilla is used? I’m in a confusion because some scholars say vanilla is Haram due to presence of 37% of alcohol in it….and some says that we can’t feel the presence of alcohol & in which we does not feel the alcoholic thing we can eat it…what should I do?


A: The hadeeth teaches us to abstain from areas of doubt.

And Allah Ta’ala (الله تعالى) knows best.

Answered by:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)

This answer was collected from MuftiOnline.co.za, where the questions have been answered by Mufti Zakaria Makada (Hafizahullah), who is currently a senior lecturer in the science of Hadith and Fiqh at Madrasah Ta’leemuddeen, Isipingo Beach, South Africa.

Read answers with similar topics: