IslamQA

Is shellac Halaal?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Fatwa-TT.com
Question:

Is shellac Halaal?

Answer:

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Shellac is a resinous secretion of an insect commonly used in the food and pharmaceutical industry. It is used as glazes such as confectionary glaze on food products and pharmaceutical glazes on medicine. 

The Shellac ingredient used in confectionery, bakery and pharmaceutical products amongst others, is Halaal[1].

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Mufti Arshad Ali

Darul Iftaa, Jaamia Madinatul Uloom (Trinidad)

www.fatwa-tt.com

[1] http://www.sanha.co.za/a/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2106&Itemid=230

This answer was collected from Fatwa-tt.com, which is operated by the Darul Iftaa of Jaamia Madinatul Uloom (Trinidad and Tobago) under the advice and guidance of Mufti Ebrahim Desai (Daamat Barakaatuhum) of South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from: Fatwa-TT.com
Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week



We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!