Home » Hanafi Fiqh » Fatwa.org.au » Oyster sauce and worcestershire sauce

Oyster sauce and worcestershire sauce

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by Fatwa.org.au
Is oyster sauce and worcestershire sauce halal?


In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

Oyster sauce is not permissible according to the Hanafi mazhab, as it contains extracts of oyster.

As for Worcestershire sauce, it will be halal if it does not contain any haram ingredient. You should check the ingredients before buying.

And Allah knows best.

Mufti Faizal Riza

This answer was collected from Fatwa.org.au, which is connected to Darul Ifta Australia, based in Melbourne, Australia.
It is operated by Mufti Faizal Riza, a student of Mufti Ebrahim Desai from South Africa.

Read answers with similar topics: