Home » Hanafi Fiqh » DarulIftaBirmingham » Is Apple Cider Halal?

Is Apple Cider Halal?

Answered by: Maulana Moinul Abu Hamza


Is apple cider halal?

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful


There are three well-known types of drinks that go by the name ‘Apple Cider’. The first is a non-alcoholic drink often consumed in the US.[1] The second type is Apple Cider Vinegar which is clearly permissible providing it is indeed vinegar, and the third type goes by the same name and contains alcohol and is obviously haram.[2]

The issue is not the ruling but the reality of which type is more commonly known where you live. For example, nearly all apple cider is impermissible in the UK because the name is used to refer to an alcoholic beverage.

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Moinul Abu Hamza

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham


[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple_cider

[2] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cider

This answer was collected from DarulIftaBirmingham.co.uk, which is run under the supervision of Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah from the United Kingdom.

Read answers with similar topics: