Home » Hanafi Fiqh » Askimam.org » Is Coke or Pepsi halal, do they contain ethanol?

Is Coke or Pepsi halal, do they contain ethanol?

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by Askimam.org

Principally, if the alcohol is extracted from grapes or dates it is not permissible. Rasulullah (Sallallaahu Álayhi Wasallam) said, ‘Khamr (wine) is from these two trees, dates and grapes.’ (Mishkãt p. 317).

Furthermore, Rasulullah (Sallallaahu Álayhi Wasallam) said, ‘Alcohol itself is prohibited and intoxication in every other beverage.’ (Hidaaya vol. 4 p. 497).

In view of the abovementioned Hadith, since the alcohol in coke is from ethanol which is fermented from sugar cane mollasses and does not intoxicate, it is permissible. However, if one is doubtful, he may exercise precaution and abstain.

and Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

Original Source Link

This answer was collected from Askimam.org, which is operated under the supervision of Mufti Ebrahim Desai from South Africa.

Read answers with similar topics: