Home » Hanafi Fiqh » Muftisays.com » Is liquorice in sweets halal?

Is liquorice in sweets halal?

Answered as per Hanafi Fiqh by Muftisays.com

i wanted to know whether liquorice in sweets is halaal.


Bismihi Subhanahu Wa-ta’ala
Assalamooalaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh
Respected Sister or Brother

Hereunder is the response to your query subject to disclaimer:

Liquorice itself is permissible unless there is an impermissible ingredient in the product containing it I.e. gelatine in a liquorice sweet. In short, liquorice is a mere ingredient in a liquorice sweet.

1. Deep-rooted coarse-textured plant native to the Mediterranean region having blue flowers and pinnately compound leaves; widely cultivated in Europe for its long thick sweet roots

2. A black candy flavoured with the dried root of the liquorice plant


(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide

Original Source Link

This answer was collected from MuftiSays.com, based in London (UK). It is one of the fruits of Darul Uloom London. Many ‘ulama are involved in answering the Q&A on the site, including: Shaikul Hadeeth Mufti Umar Farooq Sahib, Mufti Saifur Rahman Sahib, Mufti Abdullah Patel Sahib, Maulana Qamruz Zaman Sahib, Mufti Abu Bakr Karolia Sahib.

Read answers with similar topics: