Chocolate croissants; halal or haram?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Tafseer Raheemi

اسلامعليكم
Molana, i have an enquiry to make. are we allowed to eatMcvities Mini Chocolate Croissants. the Ingredients is:
Chocolate Flavour Fillings (34%) (Sugar, Vegetable Fat, Water, Fat Reduced Cocoa Powder (2.5%), Dried SkimmedMilk,Preservatives (Alcohol, Potassium Sorbate), Emulsifier (E472b), Flavourings, Gelling Agent (Sodium Alginate)] ,Wheat Flour ,Margarine [Vegetable Oil, Water, Emulsifier (E471), Salt, Citric Acid, Preservative (Potassium Sorbate)] ,Water ,Sugar ,Egg Yolk ,Butter ,Emulsifiers (E471, Lecithin) ,Yeast ,Salt ,Flavourings ,Preservative (Calcium Propionate) ,Milk Protein ,Thickener (Xanthan Gum) ,Citric Acid.

Please Can you email back with the answer. May Allah accept your khidmat for his deen, And remember me in urDuas. jzk

Ads by Muslim Ad Network

————————————————


Answer:

Walaikumussalam w w

If the product clearly states ‘suitable for vegetarians’ then it’s most likely halal.

Otherwise e471 and e472 could be from vegetable sources, yet they could be from animal sources. So you would have to be a bit careful. We can’t say for certain that it’s haram. The ingredients seem to be ok.

Why not stick to normal croissants? Heat them up and pour some chocolate on.

Wassalam

Sidebar



Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive curated Islamic Q&A every week!

You have Successfully Subscribed!