Answered by Ustadh Salman Younas
Question: The yogurt sold in the stores in the US contains active live cultures (such as acidophilus and bifidophilus) I have heard that these are derived from animal sources. Is it halal to eat yogurt that contains these cultures?Answer: assalamu `alaykum
This would be permissible to consume.
The active and live cultures used in yogurt are microbial. As such, they are permissible to consume even if from an animal source, as long as it is not pig.