1

Food question (quick answer needed please)

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Muftisays.com
Prev Question
Next Question
We had some cheese (from tesco i think) in the fridge which after it had been opened and used i discovered and it did not have a suitable for vegetarians sign on it. I told a family member about it and it was thrown out as it could be haraam. I have now got food from home to eat which has got cheese in it, not the same cheese its a new one but the thing is i dont recall anybody cleaning the fridge, as i said the cheese pack had been opened and so some efects of the cheese could have got onto the fridge shelf and could have got onto the new cheese.
am i going over the top about cross contamination? should i throw away the food or eat it?

Answer

Assalamu alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh


Many times, the product is suitable for vegetarians but it is not
declared so on the packaging. It is very unlikely that the cheese is
Haraam even if it is not suitable for vegetarians. It is permissible to
eat cheese which has rennet from calf rennet though praiseworthy to
refrain from due to a slight difference of opinion. Whey sourced from
calf rennet is acceptable:

Is Whey Rennet Haraam? (no!) http://gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/viewquestion.php?foodqid=20&catID=1&compID=1

In any case, please
contact Tesco, quoting the bar code reference (mandatory) so they may
advise you. Please relay their answer to us.

Tesco Customer Services: 0800 505555

————————————–
(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide

Original Source Link

This answer was collected from MuftiSays.com, based in London (UK). It is one of the fruits of Darul Uloom London. Many ‘ulama are involved in answering the Q&A on the site, including: Shaikul Hadeeth Mufti Umar Farooq Sahib, Mufti Saifur Rahman Sahib, Mufti Abdullah Patel Sahib, Maulana Qamruz Zaman Sahib, Mufti Abu Bakr Karolia Sahib.

Sidebar