Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by
Respected Elders,

Assalmu-alaykum Warahmatullah.

I heard that if alcohol is found in any item, be it food, medication or toiletry items such as body sprays face creams etc, etc and is extracted from dates or grapes then this is Haram. If so, why is it only dates and grapes?

May Allah elevate the Ummah.



Al-jawab billahi at-taufeeq (the answer with Allah’s guidance)

The alcohol used in perfumes or deodorants is normally a synthetic alcohol, which is not impure (Najis) and will be permissible for external use. However, its oral intake is still impermissible except in the cases of necessary medication.

If the alcohol is from grapes or dates extract, then this will be impure (Najis) and Haram.

Abu Huraira (RadhiAllahu Ta’ala Anhu) reported Allah’s Messenger (Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallam) having said: Wine is prepared from the (fruit) of these two trees date-palm and vine. (Muslim, The Book of Drinks)

Ibn ‘Umar (RadhiAllahu Ta’ala Anhu), through another chain of transmitters; reported Allah’s Messenger (Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallam) having said this: Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is forbidden. (Muslim, The Book of Drinks)

And Only Allah Ta’ala Knows Best.

Moulana Qamruz Zaman
London, UK

Original Source Link

This answer was collected from, based in London (UK). It is one of the fruits of Darul Uloom London. Many ‘ulama are involved in answering the Q&A on the site, including: Shaikul Hadeeth Mufti Umar Farooq Sahib, Mufti Saifur Rahman Sahib, Mufti Abdullah Patel Sahib, Maulana Qamruz Zaman Sahib, Mufti Abu Bakr Karolia Sahib.

Find more answers indexed from:
Read more answers with similar topics:
Related QA

Pin It on Pinterest