Diglycerides and fatty acids

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by
could you please tell me what diglycerides and fatty acids are and are they halal?

Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

If they are from animal ingredients then they would be impermissible otherwise not.

A diglyceride is a glyceride consisting of two fatty acid chains covalently bonded to a glycerol molecule through ester linkages.

A monoglyceride is a glyceride consisting of one fatty acid chain covalently bonded to a glycerol molecule through an ester linkage.

tri?glyc?er?ide (trī-glĭs’ə-rīd’) pronunciation

A naturally occurring ester of three fatty acids and glycerol that is the chief constituent of fats and oils.

A product which is ‘suitable for vegetarians’ does not necessarily make it suitable for a Muslim diet, though it is quite likely that it is. There are two issues which need to be understood:

the use of Animal Derivatives?
Preservatives like E471, E472, E476 and other such constituents can be from a vegetarian, synthetic or animal source. So a ‘suitable for vegetarians’ emblem would ensure that these ingredients are suitable for Muslims since they can not be from any animal source. So, in most cases there is usually not anything to worry about.

The use of Alcohol as an ingredient?
A ‘suitable for vegetarians’ product could have alcohol added to it but I have yet to find a bread product which contains added alcohol. Nevertheless, be careful with confectionary especially cakes, puddings etc. If alcohol is added then these would be declared in the ingredients panel in most cases.


So, to conclude a product which is ‘suitable for vegetarians’ should be free of animal sources as a rule, so only the alcohol content need be checked.

On the other hand if a product does not have the ‘Suitable for Vegetarians’ emblem, this does not automatically disqualify it for Muslim consumption. Ingredients like fish, and even battery eggs (according the Vegetarian Society, battery eggs are unsuitable) may make the product unsuitable for a vegetarian diet but of course we know that these are suitable for Muslims. We can not ascertain whether a product is Haraam or Halaal until these issues have been clarified.

Please can you clarify what particular information you require about emulsifiers so that I may direct you correctly?

If you need further clarification, please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Please do tell your friends and Ulama about this site.
Allah reward you for using the Foodguide Service. Allah give us tawfique to eat Halaal all the time. Please tell your friends and please pray for us too.

Jazaakumullah and request for Du’aas
and Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide

Original Source Link

This answer was collected from, based in London (UK). It is one of the fruits of Darul Uloom London. Many ‘ulama are involved in answering the Q&A on the site, including: Shaikul Hadeeth Mufti Umar Farooq Sahib, Mufti Saifur Rahman Sahib, Mufti Abdullah Patel Sahib, Maulana Qamruz Zaman Sahib, Mufti Abu Bakr Karolia Sahib.

Find more answers indexed from:
Read more answers with similar topics: