IslamQA

Cheese;

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Muftisays.com
I have read that cheese not marked ‘Vegetarian’ contains pepsin as part of the process of making it. I have read that pepsin refers to a specific enzyme which – due to ease & plentiful supply – cheese manufacturers extract from pigs’ stomachs.

Any truth to this?


Answer

Bismihi Ta’ala

It is very possible that cheese that is unmarked with the vegetarian tag may have some inclusions of other animals. If so, then there is no need at all to eat it when there are so many types of chees available with the vegetarian tag.

And Allah knows best.

————————————–
Mufti Yaseen Shaikh

This answer was collected from MuftiSays.com, based in London (UK). It is one of the fruits of Darul Uloom London. Many ‘ulama are involved in answering the Q&A on the site, including: Shaikul Hadeeth Mufti Umar Farooq Sahib, Mufti Saifur Rahman Sahib, Mufti Abdullah Patel Sahib, Maulana Qamruz Zaman Sahib, Mufti Abu Bakr Karolia Sahib.

Find more answers indexed from: Muftisays.com
Read more answers with similar topics:
Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to IslamQA Weekly Newsletter

You will receive 5 Q&A in your inbox every week



We have sent a confirmation to you. Please check the and confirm your subscription. Thank you!