Consuming food given as offerings to idols

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by

Q: Can you give me reference from Quran which prohibits eating prasad, like sweets, fruits and other vegetarian products?


A: This type of a thing should be totally avoided. Food that has been given as offerings to idols etc. are amongst the worst forms of haraam – maa uhilla li ghayrillah.

And Allah Ta’ala (الله تعالى) knows best.


Answered by:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive curated Islamic Q&A every week!

You have Successfully Subscribed!