Difference between zakaat, khairaat, fitrah and sadaqah

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Muftionline.co.za

Q: What is the difference between zakaat, khairat, fitrah and sadaqah?


Ads by Muslim Ad Network

A: Zakaat is 2.5 percent of your wealth that is given annually to the poor and deserving. It is compulsory. Sadaqah and khayraat are optional. And fitrah is compulsory but of a lower category and it is paid out around Eid. The fitrah does not fluctuate. It is standard, approximately 3.5 kilos of wheat or its equivalent.

And Allah Ta’ala (الله تعالى) knows best.


Answered by:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)