1

Rennet

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Muftionline.co.za
Prev Question
Next Question

Q: Recently, I found out that it is likely that most cheeses in fritolay snacks contain rennet from animals slaughtered in a haram manner. Does that make the cheese haram too? I’m confused about this because I used to get those snacks in the masjid when I was younger.

Bismillaah

A: There is a difference of opinion in this regard. It is safest not to consume such cheese.

And Allah Ta’ala (الله تعالى) knows best.

 

Answered by:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)

This answer was collected from MuftiOnline.co.za, where the questions have been answered by Mufti Zakaria Makada (Hafizahullah), who is currently a senior lecturer in the science of Hadith and Fiqh at Madrasah Ta’leemuddeen, Isipingo Beach, South Africa.

Sidebar