IslamQA

Rennet

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Muftionline.co.za

Q: Could you please send me the details of the shar’ee ruling on cheese, as most of them contain animal rennet.

Bismillaah

A: If the rennet in the cheese was derived from vegetables or from animals that were slaughtered according the Shar’ee method of slaughter and there was nothing else impure added to it, it will be halaal. If it was derived from animals that were not slaughtered according the Shar’ee method of slaughter, then there is a difference of opinion in the Hanafi Mazhab regarding it being halaal. In this case, it will be best for one to abstain from consuming the cheese.

And Allah Ta’ala (الله تعالى) knows best.

 

Answered by:

Mufti Zakaria Makada

Checked & Approved:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)

This answer was collected from MuftiOnline.co.za, where the questions have been answered by Mufti Zakaria Makada (Hafizahullah), who is currently a senior lecturer in the science of Hadith and Fiqh at Madrasah Ta’leemuddeen, Isipingo Beach, South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from: Muftionline.co.za
Read more answers with similar topics: