Random Q&A

Fermented food

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by

Q: Could you please explain if foods like vegetables etc that are fermented, are they halal for us? Please explain so we may be guided.


A: Yes, if they are not harmful or don’t have an intoxicating effect.

And Allah Ta’ala (الله تعالى) knows best.


Answered by:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)

This answer was collected from, where the questions have been answered by Mufti Zakaria Makada (Hafizahullah), who is currently a senior lecturer in the science of Hadith and Fiqh at Madrasah Ta’leemuddeen, Isipingo Beach, South Africa.

Find more answers indexed from: