Bovine gelatine

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Muftionline.co.za

Q: Many sweets that have the MJC halaal logo, list beef gelatine as an ingredient. I wanted to know if there is actually such a thing as halaal gelatine?

Bismillaah

A: Bovine gelatine is gelatin made from beef. Generally the gelatin produced is from such animals which are not slaughtered according to the Shar’ee method of slaughter. If this is so, then it will not be permissible for one to consume any food products which contain bovine gelatine.

And Allah Ta’ala (الله تعالى) knows best.

 

Answered by:

Mufti Zakaria Makada

Checked & Approved:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)

Sidebar